FAQ's

Frequently Asked QuestionsPlease take the time to review each of these QA items. Each contains in-depth information about the SwissDisk service. If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact our Customer Support Center.



Q: I use Windows and the Web Folder feature to access my SwissDisk, why can I not open and save files directly back to my SwissDisk?

A: Windows Web Folders does not allow you to open a file, edit and then save automatically back to your SwissDisk storage space. You will need to copy the file to your local hard drive, edit it, and then transfer it back to your SwissDisk account. If you would like to edit with files directly as they reside on your SwissDisk account in Windows, please read our supporting how to article.



Q: How do I edit files in My SwissDisk account?

A: Your My SwissDisk is an encrypted virtual disk. We provide access to the encrypted drive space but not the software to edit/work with what every file you may store there. For example, if you store Word documents on your SwissDisk, we provide access to them, but you would need to remove the file from your SwissDisk account and use MS Word software to edit the documents.



Q: How can I transfer files from my desktop computer to My SwissDisk?

A: From your My SwissDisk page click on the Browse button to select and upload one file at a time. To transfer files multiple files at once you will need to use third party software known called a WebDAV file management client. Please see our WebDAV clients page or read our supporting how to articles on your particular operating system and intended interest of use.



Q: I'm traveling, how can I access my SwissDisk using my Smartphone, laptop, Macbook, PDA or Handheld Computer?

A: Use your internet browser, go to our homepage www.SwissDisk.com and enter your username and password to access your My SwissDisk account. Or go directly to your SwissDisk acct by entering https://disk.swissdisk.com/Your-Username/ into your browser. All of your files on your encrypted storage will be available to you via our web interface after you log into your account. To learn more about the web interface, read our supporting how to article.



Q: How can I use SwissDisk to backup files from my computer?

A: Accessing your SwissDisk Classic account as a shared volume or network place will allow you to drag and drop files directly into your My SwissDisk account. Or you can use Windows built-in backup or a third party webdav software application to move multiple files from your computer to your SwissDisk Classic account. Please see our how to articles for information about using your SwissDisk as a Mac OSX volume or Windows network drive. ---- We also offer automated backup for Windows computers with our ONE UNLIMITED backup service.



Q: Why does my disk "free space" not show as the total of what I purchased?

A: Your SwissDisk account is allocated as actual hard disk space on our servers which requires some 'overhead' space to organize your files. Your SwissDisk space is initialized into a personal encrypted filesystem. All types of filesystems (even those on your computer) incur some overhead to organize the space on the hard disk. This overhead is seen as a "loss" of actual space available for you to store files, however it is a necessary part of the system.



Q: How do I set up the "Multi User" access, and how do we use it?

A: The "Multi User" feature is an optional pay-to-use feature. Activate this feature when you sign up or, once your account is active you can add Multi Users from your My SwissDisk page. You can authorize 5, 10 or 25 users.

You can choose Full or Limited for each user. Full access gives the user access to all folders and files, but will not allow them to access your personal account admin information. Limited access gives the user access to the username folder and also allows them access to the Shared folder.

First, create a username and unique password for each Multi User. The password must be a minimum of 8 characters.

Second, create a folder in your directory with the SAME name as the username you just created. Note, to create a new folder click on the green cross at the top left of your My SwissDisk directory.

Third, go to https://disk.swissdisk.com/Your-Username/Multi-User-Folder-Name to access the account. Enter the username (which is the folder name) and the unique password that was assigned to the folder.

Fourth, you can create a Shared folder in your directory (create a new folder and name it 'Shared') that will allow you to share files with the Limited access users. ALL Multi User sub-account holders as well as the primary account owner can access the Shared folder in your directory.

Remember Full Access which will give someone access to ALL the folders/files within your My SwissDisk directory. The only thing a full access user can't access is your personal account information and billing information.



Q: What is the "lost+found" folder, and why can I not remove it?

A: The "lost+found" folder is part of your disk filesystem. When your filesystem was created, this folder was created with it. Just like any filesystem (even the one on your computer), your SwissDisk filesystem must be checked for errors periodically. This is generally done when your filesystem is unmounted (either manually by you, or after a short period of inactivity).

In the unlikely event that the filesystem contains errors, "lost" files will be placed in this directory. A lost file can occur when you are uploading, or have recently uploaded a file, and the storage system either crashes, or power is lost.

Neither of these events is ever likely. Given our power backups systems, and stability of the equipment, you will probably never see any files end up in this directory. It is there as a failsafe, just in case of these unlikely events.



Q: I have some files in "lost+found", what do I do with them?

A: Those are files saved from your filesystem. The names of the files represent the location of the file as it is on the hard drive. Since they were "lost", the actual filename was not retrieved. You will have to inspect the files manually to determine what file it used to be.

Usually you can tell this by the size and date of the file and a bit of familiarity with what files you had on your storage space. Checking to see what files are missing from your storage space is usually a good starting point. You can also try renaming the files with a .txt extension, and opening them in a good text editor (WordPad on Windows, or TextEdit on Mac OS X) to see if you can recognize the file from its contents.



Q: After uploading files with Mac OS X, I see duplicates of the file names with a "._" appended to it, and also a ._DStore file. What are they?

A: Mac OS X has a different way of storing files. Files are split into a "Resource" and a "Data" fork. Simply speaking, each file on Mac OS is really two files, depending on what the actual file is. For example, an application is mostly a "Resource" fork, while a word processing document is mostly a "Data" fork. The resource fork can contain information like the icon, "Label" and other metadata. Since the WebDAV storage space is flat (IOW, it cannot contain dual-forked files), Mac OS X stores them as two separate files. The file with the leading "._" is the resource fork.

If you are transferring data between two systems, one Mac OS X, and the other not, you generally want to use the main file. Doing this, one can share and manipulate a Word document across both systems without problems.

The ._DStore file is a folder resource fork. It contains information about the directory, like a custom directory icon, placement of icons in the folder when you view it in the finder, etc. Deleting this file will not cause harm to your directory, but it will be recreated once you access it again from Mac OS X.



Free Online Storage

SwissDisk sDrive Login